A new fund has been established to help local groups support their communities with food supplies during the COVID-19 pandemic.: Catering assistant Marie Fraser

13 May 2020

A new fund has been established to help local groups support their communities with food supplies during the COVID-19 pandemic.

A new communities food fund has been established by Moray Council to help local groups support the most vulnerable in their communities with food supplies during the COVID-19 pandemic.

The fund is part of a package of measures being introduced by the Scottish Government’s £70million as a response to food security issues. Moray Council has been allocated £448,000 from this national fund to deliver a structured response to support households who may experience barriers in accessing food.

 

The response includes provision for those unable to leave their homes due to being in highest clinical risk - or shielded group - and will invest in community and third sector organisations responding to food insecurity.

 

Groups can secure initial funding of up to £5,000 for each associated school group area (ASG) they are operating within, and collaborative funding bids between organisations and are encouraged

Applications for funding must clearly describe the target group, and the needs that these groups of people are experiencing as a result of the current COVID-19 crisis. They should also demonstrate how the proposed support complements other food related support within the local community, and provided through the other food fund elements.

Applications for funding are being managed through the council’s Community Resilience Team, with groups encouraged to contact their locality team leads to discuss proposals and to develop a whole community response to food insecurity.

Contact local teams at the email addresses below:

Elgin

Barry Jarvis and Laura Cameron -

barry.jarvis@moray.gov.uk

laura.cameron@moray.gov.uk

Forres/Lossiemouth

Forres and Lossiemouth : Sylvia Jamieson

sylvia.jamieson@moray.gov.uk

Roseisle to Duffus: Carmen Gillies carmen.gillies@moray.gov.uk

Keith/Speyside

Keith: Jane Martin jane.martin@moray.gov.uk

Speyside: Dawn Brodie dawn.brodie@moray.gov.uk

Buckie/Milnes

Buckie: Tracey Rae tracey.rae@moray.gov.uk

Milnes: Karen Delaney karen.delaney@moray.gov.uk

Contact Information

Moray Council Press Office

pr@moray.gov.uk

Notes to editors

subject available for radio interviews. Call 07974 191318 to arrange