Changes for Council ward boundaries in advance of May elections

Changes for Council ward boundaries in advance of May elections

Changes for Council ward boundaries

With Council elections due in May, some electors will be affected by changes to council ward boundaries and will vote in new wards for the first time.

The council’s election office is writing to 167 households affected by the changes to highlight the change in their ward. If electors vote in person, the polling station they previously attended will also change.

Small changes will be seen at the boundaries between

  • Ward 3 Buckie / Ward 4 Fochabers Lhanbryde at Westerton Arradoul
  • Ward 4 Fochabers Lhanbryde / Ward 7 Elgin City South at Linkwood Distillery
  • Ward 1 Speyside Glenlivet / Ward 4 Fochabers Lhanbryde near Birnie

The expansion of Ward 6 (Elgin City North) will take in the Hamilton Gardens housing development off the Duffus Road, a move of approximately 159 households from their previous Ward 5 (Heldon and Laich).

Following a review Council ward boundaries across Scotland were agreed, following Ministers’ decisions on recommendations from the Local Government Boundary Commission for Scotland.

The Commission published recommendations for changes to councillor numbers and ward boundaries in May 2016, following completion of its fifth periodic review of local government electoral arrangements. The Boundary Commission is legally obliged to hold regular reviews of council wards and councillor numbers, to ensure these reflect changes in population.

A council spokesperson says “When the Returning Officer issues pollcards next month to advise electors of their voting arrangements for May, the pollcards will show their new ward and polling place. If electors are already registered they do not need to take any further action, the new boundaries will automatically come into effect in their area.”

“For anyone who has recently moved to the area, registering online at takes about five minutes and you will need their National Insurance number. For a postal or proxy vote application forms and general information, residents can use the Electoral Registration Office website or telephone 01343 541203.”

Moray Council area stretches from Tomintoul in the south to the shores of the Moray Firth, from Keith in the east to Forres in the west. The council and its 4,500 employees respond to the needs of 95,510 residents in this beautiful part of Scotland, which nestles between Aberdeenshire and the Highlands.

Famous for its colony of dolphins, fabulous beaches and more malt whisky distilleries than any where else in Scotland, Moray is a thriving area and a great place to live.

Headquartered in  Elgin, the administrative capital of Moray.

Contact Information