Moray West, Nairn and Strathspey

Moray West, Nairn and Strathspey candidates for UK Parliament election

Seven candidates will contest the forthcoming UK Parliamentary election on 4 July 2024 for the new Moray West, Nairn and Strathspey constituency.

Nominations closed at 4pm today (Friday 7 June) and the candidates are:

Neil ALEXANDER                                                    Scottish Liberal Democrats

James HYNAM                                                        Scottish Labour Party

Graham LEADBITTER                                           Scottish National Party (SNP)

Euan MORRICE                                                      Scottish Family Party – Putting Families First

Kathleen ROBERTSON                                        Scottish Conservative and Unionist

Steve SKERRETT                                                    Reform UK

Draeyk VAN DER HORN                                      Scottish Greens                                                    

The notice of poll, notice of election agents and notice of situation of polling places will shortly be available on our website.

Polling day is Thursday 4 July when 59 polling places will be in operation across the Moray West, Nairn and Strathspey constituency.

The count will take place at Elgin Town Hall overnight 4-5 July.

Voters have until Tuesday 18 June to register to vote but existing registered voters need not reapply.

The deadline for applications for postal votes and postal proxy votes to be received is 5pm on Wednesday 19 June, however voters are encouraged to get their applications in ahead of the deadline.

There are changes to voting by post and proxy for this election, including being able to apply to vote by post online; ID verification; maximum time for having a postal vote; and as limit to the number of postal ballot that can handed in. Full details are available here.

16 and 17-year-olds are not eligible to vote in the UK Parliament election.

Voters are reminded that ID is needed to vote in UK Parliament elections. Accepted forms of ID can be found here.

Media accreditation packs to attend the count are available by contacting (deadline for applications is 4pm on 19 June).

Contact Information

Moray Council Press Office